What's News in Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin

Fire & Rescue Department

The Pleasant Prairie Police and Fire Commission has named Craig S. Roepke as the new Chief of Fire & Rescue for the Village of Pleasant Prairie. Roepke has been with the department since 1982. He served as a paid-on-call (POC) member of the department, as POC Lieutenant and POC Captain until 2009, when he became a full-time Firemedic. Roepke was promoted to Deputy Chief of Fire & Rescue in 2012 and has been serving as Interim Chief since the recent retirement of Chief Doug McElmury.

The Village conducted a broad search. A thorough evaluation of respondents was conducted, and candidates were subsequently interviewed by a three-member panel, including: Chief Mike Slover with Town of Salem Fire/Rescue; Chief Jeff Steingart with Countryside Fire Protection District; and Chief Mark Kirschhoffer with Newport Township Fire Protection District. Candidates were then presented to the Police and Fire Commission for their consideration.

“The Village of Pleasant Prairie would like to thank Craig for his years of service to the residents in Pleasant Prairie and congratulate him on being selected as the new Chief of Fire & Rescue,” commented Carol Willke, Director of Human Resources for Pleasant Prairie. “Craig’s technical experience and leadership skills will be an asset to the Department as it continues to provide high quality fire and rescue services to residents, businesses, and visitors in Pleasant Prairie.”


Back to News